Rendelsham is a little town between Beachport and Millicent, on the Limestone Coast, and on the outskirts of the town is a monument to the work of the SE Drainage Scheme.  It seems that in the early days that the land was under water each winter, and that stopped farmers from using the land as they wanted, so they dug lots of channels to drain the water from the paddocks.  There’s a really good video that explains all about it.

Mr. Ted wanted to know if there were any fish in the water…. but we didn’t see any.  Or anyone fishing, but down the road is a sign saying “no fishing from the bridge” so perhaps there might be some about.

Peaceful flowAll looks nice and calm from here, but don’t be deceived!

At the NeckBoy did this churn!

Before and afterYou can see both aspects from here.  It’s the place called “Narrow  Neck”

Read all about itIt was time for Mr. Ted and me and Enivea to read all about this place.

The SE SchemeMapSE Drainage boardNarrow neckSeems to me there’s been an awful lot of digging going on!

Getting a rideThe equipment that was used to build the drain isn’t very big is it.  Maybe men worked harder in those days.

ScoopThis is a scoop – I don’t think it’s very big really is it…..

Hey Fred look at thisThen Mr. Ted called me over to look at the screw pile.

Sniffing the screw pileIt was a bit like a really really big screw!

Looking eastMr. Ted found his way to up on top of a big rock where there’s a map to show us where we are.

We are hereThat’s a nice sort of a map – one that doesn’t have to be folded up again – cos we know they NEVER fold up properly again do they!

MonumentBoth at the monumentDon’t you think I look pretty good posing at the monument? This is my serious look.

The WetlandsThis is where all that water goes to – Lake Frome and the Rivoli Wetlands.

You can see more photos of the Wetlands on Eremophila’s Musings.

Of course, you know I was only kidding when I said we dug this 🙂 Woof!

About eremophila

I live in the Australian countryside with my animals. Together we explore the land around us and their connection with the world helps me to see what I would otherwise be blind to. They are my teachers. My aim is to convey this other way of seeing through my photography.

4 responses »

  1. ssbpearls@gmail.com says:

    What a wonderful sight to see running water in South Australia of all places [?]

    • eremophila says:

      Yep! It’s an area you didn’t see in your travels I think. Mind you, come summer it disappears again……but it’s not too far under the surface.

  2. Hi Fred, I am glad you and Ted enjoyed your day taking an interest in an engineering project which created farming land, a lake and a wet land.

    I wonder if the coast line will change again if the sea rises due to rising global temperatures.

    • eremophila says:

      Woof! Thanks Margaret! I’ve heard some people mutter that the dunes will collapse and let the sea in around Beachport before too much longer – yikes! Don’t think it would be a good place to bury a bone around there!

Leave a Reply

