Woof woof everyone!  I’m back!  Sorry I’ve been away for so long, but I’ve been really busy helping Enivea and Sally get through a tough winter.  Now it’s Spring, and we’ve all moved into a wonderful new place and are really enjoying ourselves!

Here’s what we did today…..Sally and I that is, and Enivea tagged along as official photographer.  She likes doing that.

We’re off to do some mustering!  Gee up Sally!

Daisy was pointing out which way to go…… but it was a little confusing……..

We checked out both paddocks.

Sally said ” Come on Fred, they’re not in that paddock.”

“Fred  never believes me, I’ll just keep on eating while until he realises I’m right”  said Sally

Hey Sally, look what I found!!!!!!!!

Golly, they are catching up fast!

Those legs are much longer than mine!

Here they come – so fast they are ruffling up their feathers!   Better not come any closer though!  Grrrrrr!

There you are Enivea, Sally and I saved you from the emus!♥    They are off to the forest now.  Woof woof woof!!!

About eremophila

I live in the Australian countryside with my animals. Together we explore the land around us and their connection with the world helps me to see what I would otherwise be blind to. They are my teachers. My aim is to convey this other way of seeing through my photography.

11 responses »

  1. Walter & Hershey says:

    Walter and Hershey are happy to see you once again. My you are brave to face those big Emus. We stayed in the car with Dad in Custer State park where there were all those big bad old Bisons

    • eremophila says:

      You guys are smart. Those Bisons looked HUGE!! Much better on the plate than on the grass eh?! Once you get emus running, they are pretty easy to handle. It’s when they stop and try using their big beak that trouble arrives. I don’t want to be a mouthful for them – no way!!!!

  2. Sorry Fred, There was lots of loud laughter as I read about your adventure with the emus. Sally seemed to take it all in her stride though. Do emus and horses get along?

    • eremophila says:

      Woof! Your apology accepted Margaret 🙂 After all, laughter is good for the soul 🙂 Sally did get up on her toes at one stage, that’s why I had to herd the birds away again. Don’t know that emus get along with anything but emus……. Did you know that it’s the male emu who sits on the eggs and looks after the hatchings? He’s real protective of them too. Maybe that’s why the cows smashed up the eggs….unless they wanted eggs to make their summer coats nice and shiny……

  3. Marti says:

    Those emus aren’t as friendly as you would expect.
    Great view of the world – from a dog. We have two golden retrievers – their view is similar to Fred’s.
    Marti

  4. Truly enjoyed this photo-story 🙂 My beagle, Nero, would love sniffing around with Fred 🙂

Leave a Reply

