Now this is REAL traveling!

A Traveler's Tale

I stood in the darkness in the middle of the steppe one evening and saw something I’ve never seen before: an unobstructed view of the stars in the skies above and the horizons around me.  Nothing else was there; no trees, no skyscrapers, just the stars all over me, as if I was under a huge dome made of stars. That was when I realized why they also call Mongolia the land of the big sky.

I was in a ger camp of a herder family and the day was spent doing what herders do in the steppes but, because of the seemingly endless breadth of open space, much of the time was lost just driving to places; to the next ger camp, to their grazing herd, to a ‘nearby’ river, and then back to camp (Glad I chose to ride in the car, not on a horseback!).

The trip…

View original post 785 more words

About eremophila

I live in the Australian countryside with my animals. Together we explore the land around us and their connection with the world helps me to see what I would otherwise be blind to. They are my teachers. My aim is to convey this other way of seeing through my photography.

2 responses »

  1. Bob & the "Pugsters". says:

    The scenes of the Mongolian Steppes remind me of parts of Alberta and Montana. They call Montana “Big Sky Country” too. I’ve always wanted to visit Mongolia. I think i’d feel at home there particularly if I could see some mountains in the distance. Thaanks for posting these beautiful photos.

Leave a Reply

